Clinical Division (CLNC)

Message from the Director

Chinese medicine, as the Chinese inherited arts and science in illness prevention, has played a paramount role in the healthcare system of China in the past millennia. In recent decades, a more sophisticated society, coupled with the raising of living standard, has given rise to an ageing population. Human disease spectrum evolved. Under such circumstances, Chinese medicine, characterized by its conception of balance, dynamism and holistic care, became an important matter of concern in the medical world. The Chinese medicine industry thereby works hand in hand to fully stretch the predominant characteristics and the treatment edge of Chinese medicine, so as to serve for public health.

Since the return of Hong Kong to China in 1997, HKSAR has created a favourable environment for Chinese medicine development in Hong Kong. In 1999, the Legislative Council officially passed the Chinese Medicine Ordinance, which laid the foundation for its growth. In response to the social needs and for the sake of social well being, Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) established its first Chinese medicine clinic in 1997, which provides Chinese medicine healthcare service to the community. Under the auspices of the University Grant Committee and the government, HKBU started enrolment for its firstly launched Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Chinese medicine in 1998, and opened the full-time Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons) in Chinese medicine in 2001. This nurtures Chinese medicine specialists for the future and manifests a bright future for Chinese medicine development in Hong Kong.

Practice is of high degree of importance in the study of Chinese medicine. To enhance teaching, HKBU set up its first Chinese medicine clinic as early as 1997. The clinic serves not only as a Chinese medicine medical centre for the community but also a clinical teaching base for the Chinese medicine students. In order to further strengthen clinical teaching activities, the School of Chinese Medicine set up the Clinical Division in July 2001, which oversees and coordinates amongst its affiliated Chinese medicine clinics. In terms of clinical research, teaching and medical services, the Clinical Division plays a supportive role.

Missions:

  1. Clinical Teaching

    Arrange and manage the teaching activities of clinical practicum/internship and pharmaceutical practicum together with the Teaching and Research Division and the Division of Continuing and Professional Education, is one of the our major missions.

  2. Healthcare Services

    Manage Chinese medicine clinics which located at Kowloon, Hong Kong Island and New Territories providing quality Chinese medicine medical and healthcare services to the community, standardize the safety and quality medical and health services is one of our major objectives which in return provide a good support as one of the main teaching bases for the students of HKBU. Please click here to view the Chinese medicine clinics information.

  3. Clinical Research

    Healing effects are the soul of herbal medicine. To raise the clinical effectiveness of herbal medicine, an extension of clinical research is deemed to be indispensable. Clinical research is a prerequisite for the advancement of the academic quality and modernization of Chinese medicine. Therefore, clinical research is also an area of emphasis of our division.

  4. Public Education

    For precaution, we actively engage in public education and outreach by means of public talks and seminars on healthcare issues and treatment of diseases with Chinese medicine. It helps disseminate valuable healthcare information and raise health consciousness of the public. Please click here to view the details.

Professor BIAN Zhaoxiang

Chinese Medicine Clinics

Talks Open to the Public

Contact Us

Top

臨床部

臨床部主任的話

中醫藥學是我國源遠流長的疾病防治科學與藝術,幾千年來,在中國的醫衞生保健體系中發揮了相當重要的作用。半個世紀以來,隨著現代社會文明的進步及生活水平的提高,人口老齡化問題日益突現,人群疾病譜亦發生變化。由此,以整體觀、平衡觀、動態觀為特色的中醫藥學,成為全世界醫藥學界關注的熱點。充份發揮中醫藥學的優勢特色,發揮其療效優勢,為民眾健康服務,是中醫藥業界的共同目標。

在香港,自1997年回歸祖國以來,特區政府為中醫藥的發展提供了良好的外部條件。1999年,立法會正式通過《中醫藥條例》,奠定了中醫藥在香港發展的基礎。香港浸會大學順應時勢所需,為民眾福祉作想,於1997年開設中醫藥診所,積極推動中醫藥事業,並為香港市民提供中醫藥醫療服務。於1998年開辦了全港首個由政府大學教育資助委員會資助的中醫學學士及生物醫學理學士(榮譽)雙學位課程;更於2001年開辦了全港首個全日制中藥學學士(榮譽)學位課程,為中醫藥學的發展培養後續人才。

中醫藥學是一門實踐性很強的學科,為了加強中醫藥學的教學,香港浸會大學早於1997年成立了中醫門診部,一方面為兼讀制課程組的同學提供臨床實習的場所,同時為社區服務。在全日制中醫學課程開設之後,為了進一步加強中醫藥臨床教學,香港浸會大學中醫藥學院於2001年7月正式成立臨床部,直接管理學院所屬的中醫藥診所,為中醫科研、醫療服務及教學服務提供更為完善的配備。

臨床部主要職責包括教學、醫療、研究及教育四方面。

  1. 支授臨床教學

    臨床部會同中醫藥學院全日制課程組及兼讀制課程組安排和管理中醫藥學院學生的臨床見習/實習及藥房實習的教學任務,是中醫藥學院實踐教學的主要基地之一。

  2. 提供優質醫療及保健服務

    臨床部於香港、九龍及新界各設中醫藥診所,為社會大眾提供中醫藥醫療保健服務。而規範安全有效的醫療是本部工作的宗旨,並且有品質優良的醫療服務,才能使學生有機會在實踐學習中接觸到更多的病人,從而提高臨床教學的質素。請 按此瀏覽中醫藥診所資料。

  3. 開展中醫藥科研項目

    臨床部深刻理解療效是中醫藥的生命,要提高中醫藥的臨床療效,各科研究項目的開展是必需的。這亦是中醫藥走向規範化的前提,以及對大眾健康有著長遠的裨益。因此,中醫藥臨床研究是本部重點內容之一。

  4. 推動公眾中醫藥教育

    「未病先防」,臨床部透過舉行中醫藥預防及治療各種疾病的公開講座及研討會,並組織不同形式的社區活動及外展服務,為社會大眾提供中醫藥醫療保健訊息,加強市民對中醫藥治療與保健的意識。請按此瀏覽活動資料。

卞兆祥教授

臨床部診所資料
聯絡我們

頁首