Introduction

Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU), the first institution funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC) to offer undergraduate education in Chinese medicine and pharmacy in Chinese medicine in Hong Kong, established the School of Chinese Medicine (SCM) in 1999. SCM is committed to providing quality academic programmes, conducting cutting-edge research and technology development, offering first-rate Chinese medicine healthcare service, and contributing to the standardisation, modernisation and internationalisation of Chinese medicine. SCM is proud to have achieved a leading position in Chinese medicine in the higher education sector in Hong Kong.

With our quality teaching staff and following the whole person education ethos of the University, SCM provides quality Chinese medicine programmes to nurture new generations of Chinese medicine professionals and scientists and advance the development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong and beyond. The School offers a wide range of academic programmes leading to the award of different academic qualifications, including UGC-funded undergraduate and research postgraduate programmes as well as self-financed taught master's, diploma and certificate programmes.

Education

We offer two undergraduate programmes, the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Biomedical Science double degree programme and the Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons) in Chinese Medicine programme launched in 1998 and 2001 respectively. HKBU is the first institution provided with funding by UGC to offer these two programmes and until now no other local universities offer the same programmes. We have produced outstanding graduates, who have established their careers in healthcare, scientific research, teaching, medical management and trading in Chinese medicines in Hong Kong and other parts of the world. There are also alumni engaged in postgraduate studies in biomedical science, Chinese medicine or pharmacy in Chinese medicine.

Research

SCM has identified three strategic research focuses, viz. precision medicine and phenomics study, translational medicine and innovative drug discovery, and authentication and testing of Chinese medicines. Our academics are engaged in studies on the causes and methods of treating different kinds of diseases by integrating Chinese medicine theories and clinical experiences with new technologies of different scientific disciplines.

We have established eight research centres, namely "Shum Yiu Foon Shum Bik Chuen Memorial Centre for Cancer and Inflammation Research", "Institute for Advancing Translational Medicine in Bone and Joint Diseases", "Hong Kong Chinese Medicine Clinical Study Centre", "Mr. & Mrs. Ko Chi Ming Centre for Parkinson's Disease Research", "Consun Chinese Medicines Research Centre for Renal Diseases", "Research Centre for Standardization of Chinese Medicines", "Institute of Integrated Bioinformedicine and Translational Science" and "Institute for Precision Medicine and Innovative Drug". Apart from our state-of-the-art research facilities in the SCM Building on campus, we have also set up research bases in the Hong Kong Science Park, Hong Kong Baptist University Institute of Research and Continuing Education in Shenzhen, Hong Kong Baptist University Changshu Research Institute, and Hong Kong Baptist University (Haimen) Institute of Science and Technology.

SCM has made remarkable achievements in scientific research in recent years. In addition to winning a large number of research grants from HKBU, the HKSAR Government and the mainland Government, our experts publish frequently in academic journals with high impact factor. The School has also made considerable progress in terms of the number of patent applications filed and patents granted. All in all, it has attained a leading position in the field of Chinese medicine research in Hong Kong.

The School has been proactive in seeking collaborations with enterprises and set up the "University-Enterprise Synergy Innovation Platform", the purpose of which is to optimise the use of talents and resources of SCM and the partner organisations. The Platform conducts joint research and seeks to realise the industrialisation of research findings so as to promote innovative Chinese medicine research and foster the development of Chinese medicine pharmaceutical industry.

Technology Transfer

SCM established the Hong Kong Chinese Medicine Authentication Centre to provide services for quality assurance, authentication and safety testing of Chinese medicines It has also developed and sells "BU HEALTH" products to contribute to the health and well-being of the community.

Academic and Professional Activities

SCM frequently organises large-scale international academic conferences in collaboration with academic and research institutes in the mainland and overseas to foster academic exchanges and collaborations in Chinese medicine. Committed to the standardisation and internationalisation of Chinese medicine, we participate in work pertaining to the standardisation of Chinese medicine undertaken by the World Health Organisation and the International Organisation for Standardisation and the formulation of two sets of national Chinese medicines coding and the Chinese medicine clinical practice guideline for three common diseases in Hong Kong. We have also rendered assistance to the Department of Health of HKSAR in formulating the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standard.

Healthcare Service

SCM has been offering first-rate Chinese medicine healthcare services since 1999 and now operates a total of sixteen clinics all over the territory-nine operated directly by SCM and seven established in collaboration with Hospital Authority and non-profit making organisations. Our healthcare service enjoys a high degree of popularity in the community, with patient attendance at the clinics operated directly by SCM exceeding 1.82 million over the years. Apart from serving the community, our Chinese medicine experts conduct clinical observations, and their study results expound the effectiveness of Chinese medicine by way of evidence-based medicine.

Top

學院簡介

香港浸會大學是香港首間由大學教育資助委員會(教資會)資助開辦中醫及中藥本科課程的高等院校,於1999年成立中醫藥學院。學院致力開辦優質的中醫藥課程、從事高端的研究和技術開發以及提供高水平的中醫醫療服務,積極從事中醫藥標準化工作,推動中醫藥的現代化和國際化。學院綜合實力雄厚,在香港高教界的中醫藥範疇處於領先地位。

學院師資優良,秉承香港浸會大學全人教育的辦學理念,提供優質的中醫藥課程,以培育新一代優秀中醫藥人才和研究精英、推動香港以至海內外中醫藥的發展為目標。學院開辦的課程無論專業領域和學歷層次齊全,包括由教資會資助的本科課程及研究生課程,以及自資的碩士課程及各類文憑、證書等課程。

 

 

教育

學院開辦中醫學學士及生物醫學學士(榮譽)學位課程及中藥學學士(榮譽)學位課程,兩個課程分別於1998年及2001年創辦,是全港首個獲教資會資助、也是到目前全港獨有的同類課程。我們的畢業生人才輩出,他們在香港及世界各地行醫或從事科研、教學、醫療行政管理、醫藥貿易等工作,也有繼續深造,修讀與生物醫學、中醫學或中藥學相關的研究生課程的。

 

 

科研

學院制訂了三項策略研究重點:精準醫學和臨床表型組學研究、轉化醫學與創新藥物發現、中藥鑒定與檢定,利用中醫藥理論與專家學者的臨床診療經驗,結合多學科的現代科學技術,對各種疾病進行研究,探究其成因和治療方法。

我們的專家學者共建立了八個研究中心,包括「岑堯寬岑碧泉紀念癌症炎症研究中心」、「骨與關節疾病轉化醫學研究所」、「香港中醫藥臨床研究中心」、「高志明伉儷柏金遜症研究中心」、「康臣腎病中藥研究中心」、「中藥標準化研究中心」、「整合生物資訊醫學與轉化科學研究所」及「精準醫學與創新藥物研究所」。學院除了在校園的學院大樓建有設備先進的實驗室,也在香港科學園及設於內地的香港浸會大學深圳研究院及香港浸會大學常熟研究院建立了研究基地。

學院近年研究表現出色,除了屢獲浸大、香港特區政府以至內地政府的研究資助,經常在高影響因子的學術期刊發表論文,每年提交的研究專利申請和獲授專利權的數目也有長足進步,奠定了學院在香港中醫藥科研範疇的領先地位。

學院積極與業界建立合作關係,共同組建「大學-企業協同創新平台」,通過整合及充分利用學院和合作機構各自的優秀創新人才和科研資源,攜手開展研究項目,實現研究成果產業化,推動中醫藥創新研究,促進中醫藥產業的發展。

技術轉移

學院轄下的「香港中藥檢定中心」提供中藥質量保證、鑑定及安全檢測服務,並研製及銷售「浸大尚方」中成藥保健產品,促進大眾健康。

學術及專業活動

我們經常與海內外學術及科研機構合作,舉辦大型國際學術會議,促進中醫藥範疇的交流合作,並參與世界衛生組織及國際標準化組織在中醫藥標準化方面的工作,參與制訂兩項中藥編碼系列國家標準及適用於香港的三種常見疾病的中醫臨床實踐指南,以及協助香港衞生署制訂中藥材標準,為中醫藥的標準化及國際化作出貢獻。

醫療服務

社會對中醫醫療服務需求殷切,我們自1999年為市民提供優良的中醫醫療服務,至今共設有十六間診所,遍佈香港各區,包括九間直屬及七間與醫院管理局和其他非牟利機構合作的中醫藥診所。診所提供的服務深受市民信賴,十多年來直屬診所的求診人次逾182萬。除了服務市民,學院的中醫師亦積極進行臨床研究及發表研究報告,以循證醫學闡述和提高中醫藥的療效。

 

頁首