Alumni Updates

20 February 2017

Dr. Tony Chua: Passing on the inheritance of Chinese medicine

>>Related news

7 February 2017

Ms. Delia Chan named Outstanding HKBU Alumna

>>Related news

2 November 2016

Alumus Chris Chan awarded Dragon Culture TCM Scholarship

Chris Chan, alumnus of the 2010 Class of the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hon) in Biomedical Science programme, was awarded Dragon Culture Traditional Chinese Medicine Scholarships by the Dragon Culture Charity Fund for his outstanding performance and passion in Chinese medicine research.

17 March 2016

Alumus Dr. Dennis Au conferred third HKBU Distinguished Alumni Award

>>Related news

11 November 2015

Alumna Jenny Yeung awarded Dragon Culture TCM Scholarship

Jenny Yeung, alumna of the 1st cohort of the 2003 Class of the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hon) in Biomedical Science programme, was awarded Dragon Culture Traditional Chinese Medicine Scholarships by the Dragon Culture Charity Fund for her outstanding performance and passion in Chinese medicine research.

28 October 2014

Alumna Katy Wong's internship at WHO

Katy Wong, alumna of the 2013 Class of the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Biomedical Science programme, was selected from over 10,000 applicants worldwide to win an internship opportunity at the Department of Traditional and Complementary Medicine of the headquarters of World Health Organisation (WHO) in Geneva from August 2014 to February 2015. The internship programme is open to public health students and experts from all over the world and the application success rate is 5%.

At WHO, Katy was engaged in the verification and analysis of data collected for the global survey on traditional medicines: policy on traditional medicine and regulation and safety monitoring of herbal medicines, and had the opportunity to participate in a number of training sessions and discussion seminars to enrich her knowledge of public health. With the outbreak of Ebola in West Africa, the team to which she belongs had been coordinating experts of traditional medicines from around the world to try to work out strategies for treating Ebola patients. She also attended sharing sessions conducted by experts deployed to fight Ebola in West Africa as well as meetings of WHO and United Nations experts to discuss the vaccine and treatment for Ebola. These experiences enabled her to learn about the all-round strategy adopted by the international organisations for confronting an epidemic.

Katy completed the Master of Public Health programme at the University of Edinburgh Medical School, United Kingdom in 2014. She said: "As a result of the internship, I am exposed to different global health issues, and look at traditional medicine from an international perspective. It has challenged me to reflect on how young Chinese medicine practitioners could contribute to the promotion of traditional medicine in the global health arena."

8 April 2014

Alumna Amy Leung provides voluntary medical service at Thai-Myanmar border

Amy Leung, alumna of the 2013 Class of the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Biomedical Science programme, participated in the "Village Acupuncturist" scheme organised by the voluntary orgnisation "Chinese Medicine for All" to provide free Chinese medicine consultation for Myanmar refugees stranded at the Thai-Myanmar border and teach the medical personnel acupuncture skills from January to July 2014.

21 March 2013

New book by alumna Jenny Yeung

Jenny Yeung, alumna of the 1st cohort of the undergraduate programme in Chinese medicine (2003), wrote a bilingual book entitled ‘‘Homemade Cup of Tea – Easy Herbal Infusion for Beauty & Health', which teaches women how to prepare tea for beauty and health using the simple method of infusion.

18 February 2013

Alumna Miss Gwyneth Yip shared her practice experience in Switzerland

Miss Gwyneth Yip, a Chinese medicine alumna who graduated in 2005, went to Switzerland in 2011 to practise at a Chinese medicine clinic. When she returned to Hong Kong during the Lunar New Year holidays, she visited her teachers at her alma mater and shared with the press her experience in Switzerland.

4 December 2012

In memoriam of alumna Yang Yan Lee Loi Lily

Yang Yan Lee Loi Lily, alumna of CM undergraduate programme (2009), passed away on 4 November 2012 at the age of 27. The late Ms. Yang was a caring Chinese medicine practitioner who gave free Chinese medicine talks and provided consultation for free to benefit a headcount of over 3,000 patients during the two years of her practice. She was awarded a certificate of commendation by the Social Welfare Department for her volunteer work. Ms. Yang was the main breadwinner of her family, and her sister, also a CM alumna, has still to repay loans taken out from the government for her undergraduate studies. The HKBU Chaplain's Office has appealed for donations to help the Yang family, and more than HK$140,000 has been raised.

1 November 2012

Chinese medicine alumnus wins a runner-up award in Global Entrepreneur of the Year

>>Related news

13 September 2012

Alumna Delia Chan conferred HKBU Honorary University Fellowship

Alumna Delia Chan was conferred Honorable University Fellowship by HKBU in recognition of her outstanding contribution to society and in appreciation of her highly valued support to her alma mater. Ms. Chan joined the textiles and garment industry after completing a higher diploma in Secretarial and Managerial Studies at the then Hong Kong Baptist College. She pursued her studies in Chinese medicine at HKBU and received a Bachelor's degree in Health Science (Chinese Medicine) jointly offered by HKBU and the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University in 2005, and a master's degree in Chinese medicine in 2008. Ms. Chan cares deeply about the development of HKBU and has made generous donations to support the Centre for Cancer and Inflammation Research as well as Chinese medicine research.

10 November 2011

Alumni's CM clinic wins two prizes of HSBC Youth Business Award

>>Related news

Two alumni of the Chinese medicine undergraduate programme received the Silver Award and the "Most Favourite Youth Business Award Online" of the HSBC Youth Business Award for setting up the Conduct Chinese Medicine Clinic Limited. The Award was organised by the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups.

Peter Pang and Dennis Au (graduates of 2005) established the CM clinic in 2008. They provided professional services to enhance patients' physical health with a "fusion" of traditional Chinese medicine and modern management style. They have also set up a non-profit organisation "Chinese Medicine For All" to help those in deprived countries.

15 September 2011

Alumnus Sam Pang: The good doctor

>>Related news

15 July 2011

Alumnus Dennis Au receives Young Leader award

>>Related news

Alumnus Dennis Au, a graduate of the 3rd cohort of Bachelor of Chinese Medicine and Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Biomedical Science, was presented the 5th Young Leader award by the Harbour Junior Chamber in appreciation of his leadership and contribution to the society by arranging registered Chinese medicine practitioners through voluntary organisation "Chinese Medicine for All" to provide free consultation to people living in the remote areas of the Philippines over the past two years.

As one of the founding members of "Chinese Medicine for All" since his graduation in 2005, Dennis hopes to spread the seeds of Chinese medicine in different countries and regions for those in need of Chinese medicine treatment

20 March 2011

Alumnus Mr. Wing Wong wins prizes at inter-school dancesport competition

Alumnus Mr. Wing Wong, graduate of SCM's Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons) in Chinese Medicine in 2010 scooped four silver medals and three bronze medals with his partner at the 7th Inter-School DanceSport Competition held in early March 2011. A former Vice-President of the DanceSport Society of HKBU Student Union, Mr. Wong has taken part in the performance at various University-wide or School-wide events. He is currently pursuing the study for the Master's degree in Health Management in Chinese Medicine under SCM.

Top

校友通訊

2017年2月20日

蔡嘉傑博士:新一代中醫傳承者

>>相關新聞

2017年2月7日

陳維湘校友榮獲浸大傑出校友獎

>>相關新聞

2016年11月2日

陳錦華校友獲頒「龍的文化傳統中醫獎學金」

中醫學學士及生物醫學理學士(榮譽)學位課程(2010)陳錦華校友獲龍的文化慈善基金頒發「龍的文化傳統中醫獎學金」,表揚他對中醫藥研究的熱忱和優秀表現。

2016年3月17日

歐卓榮校友榮獲浸大傑出校友獎

>>相關新聞

2015年11月11日

楊明霞校友獲頒「龍的文化傳統中醫獎學金」

中醫學學士及生物醫學理學士(榮譽)學位課程(2003)楊明霞校友獲龍的文化慈善基金頒發「龍的文化傳統中醫獎學金」,表揚她對中醫藥研究的熱忱和優秀表現。

2014年10月28日

黃暖詠校友世衛實習增廣見聞

中醫學學士及生物醫學理學士(榮譽)雙學位課程(2013)黃暖詠校友從全球逾萬名申請人中脫穎而出,獲選於2014年8月至2015年2月在世衛日內瓦總部傳統醫學部實習。該實習項目開放予世界各地修讀公共衛生的學生及專家申請,每年的申請成功率不足5%。

黃校友在世衛參與傳統醫藥政策及草藥安全監管全球調查報告的數據驗證及分析工作,也出席不同課題的衛生研討會,這些活動將大大增加她對國際公共醫療衛生的認識。由於最近西非國家爆發伊波拉疫症,傳統醫學部負責協調各地的傳統醫學專家尋求治療伊波拉病毒的方法,她也有機會參加駐西非專家的分享會,以及世衛專家和聯合國專家討論伊波拉疫苗和治療的會議,深入瞭解國際組織全方位應付疫情的部署,令她獲益良多。

黃校友於2014年修畢英國愛丁堡大學公共衛生碩士課程後獲得這難能可貴的實習機會。她說:「這項實習不僅讓我接觸到不同的全球健康問題,更讓我可以從國際角度理解傳統醫藥。作為年輕一代的中醫師,這令我反思自己應如何在國際衛生領域推廣傳統醫藥。」

2014年4月8日

梁慧儀校友赴泰緬邊境義診

中醫本科課程(2013)梁慧儀校友於2014年1月至7月參加志願團體「全仁中醫」舉辦的「鄉村針灸師」計劃,到泰緬邊境為緬甸難民提供中醫義診服務及傳授針灸知識予當地醫療人員。

2013年3月21日

楊明霞校友出版新書

中醫課程第一屆畢業生楊明霞校友(2003)編著了中英對照的《自家製靚人之Cup of Tea美顏養生簡易焗茶》,介紹適合女士的簡易焗茶方法及配料。

2013年2月18日

葉天茵校友分享在瑞士的行醫經驗

在2005年畢業的中醫校友葉天茵於2011年前往瑞士,在一家中醫診所擔任醫師。葉校友於今年年初回港度歲期間返回母校探訪老師,並與傳媒分享她在瑞士行醫的經驗與感想。

葉校友畢業後曾任職多間中醫藥診所,求診病人以在港工作的海外人士為主。她於2011年前往瑞士的中醫診所工作,為當地病人提供中藥處方,也會配合針灸、推拿、拔罐等中醫治療手法,有助中醫藥治療在當地社區建立良好的口碑,也備受當地傳媒報道。

2012年12月4日

悼念楊恩莉萊校友

修讀中醫本科課程的校友楊恩莉萊 (2009)於 2012年11月4日病逝,終年27歲。楊校友生前熱心公益事業,擔任全職中醫師的兩年內,提供中醫免費講座及超過3,000人次的義診服務,獲社會福利署頒發義工服務嘉許狀。楊校友是家庭的經濟支柱,同為本課程校友的妹妹向政府取得的大學貸款尚未清還。有見及此,大學校牧處發起校內募捐,籌得超過14萬元,希望能幫助楊家渡過難關。

2012年11月1日

中醫藥校友奪「全球青年創業家大獎」亞軍

>>相關新聞

2012年9月13日

陳維湘校友獲母校頒授榮譽大學院士

陳維湘校友榮獲浸大頒授榮譽大學院士,以表揚她對社會作出的重大貢獻和對母校發展的鼎力支持。陳校早年於於香港浸會學院修畢秘書與管理學課程後投身紡織業,2005年完成浸大與澳洲皇家墨爾本理工大學合辦的健康科學 (中醫) 學士課程,2008年取得浸大中醫學碩士學位。陳校友一直關心母校的發展,並捐款支持中醫藥學院的癌症、炎症,以及中醫藥研究。

2011年11月10日

校友辦中醫診所獲匯豐青年創業大獎兩項殊榮

>>相關新聞

由兩位中醫本科課程校友創辦的康德堂中醫診所有限公司,最近榮獲由香港青年協會主辦的「匯豐青年創業大獎」亞軍,兼勇奪網上最具人氣企業大獎,可喜可賀。

2005年畢業的彭愉康校友和歐卓榮校友,在2008年開始合辦康德堂中醫診所至今,診所結合傳統中醫與現代管理的模式,以專業及年輕化的形象,為病人診治和調理身體,藉此將傳統中醫藥發揚光大。他們並成立非牟利機構「全仁中醫」,前往落後國家和地區義診。

2011年9月15日

彭俊生校友:醫者仁心

>>相關新聞

2011年7月15日

歐卓榮校友榮獲青年領袖殊榮

>>相關新聞

中醫學學士及生物醫學理學士(榮譽)學位課程第三屆畢業生歐卓榮校友,透過創立志願組織「全仁中醫」,過去兩年每年組織一批註冊中醫師遠赴菲律賓偏遠地區義診,他最近榮獲海港青年商會頒發第五屆青年領袖殊榮,以表揚他的領導才能及對社會的貢獻。

歐校友於2005年畢業後參與創立「全仁中醫」,他期望以中醫藥的專業懸壼濟世精神,將中醫種子散播到不同國家及地區,用中醫的方法幫助有需要的人。

2011年3月20日

黃雅穎校友校際體育舞蹈錦標賽獲獎

本科中藥學課程2010年畢業生黃雅穎校友在今年3月初舉行的第7屆香港校際體育舞蹈錦標賽中,與舞伴嬴得四面銀牌和三面銅牌的佳績。黃校友曾出任浸大體育舞蹈學會副主席,經常在大學及學院的大型活動中演出。黃校友現正深造由學院開辦的中醫健康管理碩士課程。

頁首