Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine

Introduction of Award Winner

Prof. Tommy Yung-Chi CHENG

Prof. Tommy Yung-Chi Cheng, Henry Bronson Professor of Pharmacology in Yale University, has made major contributions to the development of drugs for cancer and viral diseases. Prof. Cheng developed “Phytomics QC” technology, which combined chemical fingerprint and biological response profile using omics technology for quality control of herbs or their product and systematical exploration of a traditional Chinese medicine compound formula, PHY906 as an adjuvant therapy for cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy, with the aim to obtain approval as a prescription drug in the United States and the western world. The approach could serve as a role model for others in the pursuit of globalization of Chinese medicine.

The “Phytomic QC” technology developed by Prof. Cheng is recognized by US FDA as a key technology for quality control of herbal drugs for oral use. The concept is also adapted by many institutes to be used for quality control of their herbal products. It demonstrated the consistency of different batches of Chinese medicine compound formula, PHY906, even prepared five years apart using different batches of herbs. The belief of mainstream scientists over the non-consistency of TCM preparation is thereupon shattered. Scientific evidence is also provided to demonstrate multiple mechanisms of action and multiple active compounds involved in each action of PHY906 which consists of four herbs. Deletion of any one of the four herbs will not work as well in vivo. This pointed out the direction of future research in Chinese medicine which should not only focus on the isolation of single chemical entity working on a single action site. Prof. Cheng also carried out three Phase I/II clinical studies of PHY906 in combination with chemotherapy for three different types of cancer in top and credible medical institutes in the US and demonstrated the potential value of PHY906 in those clinical studies.

Prof. Cheng has published a milestone paper in Science (Translational Research Sci Transl Med 2(45):45-59 (2010)). Those top journals did not publish any scientific papers about Chinese Medicine formula previously. This opened the door for publications of Chinese medicine manuscripts in top mainstream and high impact journals. He also contributed to the upgrading of Chinese medicine research in many research institutes worldwide through advisory consultation.

Before publication, Prof. Cheng already shared his vision and experience with others in terms of how to globalize Chinese medicine based on his experience. He also provides consultation to institutes worldwide to upgrade Chinese medicine research. Moreover, he found “Consortium for the Globalization of Chinese Medicine” (CGCM) with 16 other institutes in 2003 and served as Chairman until the end of 2011. It now has 126 Institute Members and 10 Industrial Affiliate Members worldwide.

Main Page of the "Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine"

Top

張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎 - 得獎人獲獎介紹

得獎人簡介

鄭永齊教授

美國耶魯大學醫學院藥理學系鄭永齊講座教授在研發治療癌症與過濾性病毒疾病的藥物方面,貢獻重大。鄭教授開發的「Phytomics QC」技術,結合化學指紋圖譜分析(chemical fingerprint)和生物反應圖譜分析(biological response profile),藉着組學技術(omics technology)對草藥或屬下產品實行質素控制,並以PHY906傳統中藥複方藥物作為接受化療的癌症病人的輔助療法為前提,進行系統性研究,務求獲美國和其他外國國家通過複方成為處方藥物。此舉無疑為同儕樹立楷模,驅動同儕共同促進中醫藥國際化。

鄭教授所研發的「Phytomics QC」技術獲美國食品及藥物管理局(US FDA)認可為口服草本藥物質素控制的重要技術,各批中藥複方PHY906複方藥物亦展示一致的特性,即使不同批次藥物的配藥時間相隔五年之久,這否定了主流科學家一直認為所有中醫藥的配藥未能一致的問題。此外,鄭教授更提供了科學論證,證明PHY906每項運作所涉及的機理和活性化合物,都包含四種草藥的成份,若刪減任何一種成份,均會令複方不能在體內發揮原有療效。這闡明將來中醫藥研究的方向,不應只注重研究單一機理的單一化學成份。PHY906複方藥物更於美國頂尖和可靠的醫學院內進行三次第一/二階段的臨床測試,結合化療來治理三類癌症,在臨床研究在中展示PHY906的潛在價值。

鄭教授在《科學》(Science) [《科學轉化醫學》(Science Translational Medicine)中的「轉化研究」2(45):45 – 59 (2010)]中發表論文,標誌重要的研究里程。該些頂尖學術期刊不曾刊登有關中藥配方的科學論文,此舉造就日後中醫藥論文於一級主流和高效應醫學期刊發表的機會,而且更通過提供顧問諮詢的措舉,提升全球多個研究院的中醫藥研究質素。

鄭教授早在發表上述報告之前,已與同儕傾囊分享有關促進中藥國際化的看法和經驗,積極為各大機構提供顧問意見,致力提升中醫藥研究的水平,更於2003年與十六所大學院系合力創立中藥全球化聯盟(Consortium for the Globalization of Chinese Medicine,CGCM),並擔任主席一職。聯盟在全球現有一百二十六名學院會員(Institute Members)和十名企業會員(Industrial Affiliate Members)。

「張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎」主頁

頁首