Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine

Introduction of Award Winner

Professor De-an Guo

Chair Professor of Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica,
Chinese Academy of Sciences;
Director of National Engineering Laboratory for TCM
Standardization Technology;
Director of Shanghai Research Center for Modernization of
Traditional Chinese Medicine

Professor De-an Guo was born in Yuncheng County, Shandong Province of China on April 24, 1962. He received his Ph.D. in Pharmacognosy from Beijing Medical University in 1990 and was Post-doctoral Fellow at Plant Biochemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Texas Tech University, USA from 1993 to 1996. He was Associate Professor at School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Beijing Medical University (1996-1997) and then Full Professor at School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Peking University (1997-2005). He is currently Chair Professor at Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Director of National Engineering Laboratory for TCM Standardization Technology and Director of Shanghai Research Center for Modernization of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Professor Guo has focused his research on modernization of traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) for more than 30 years. He has established a method to analyse the active ingredients of TCM and developed a standard system for holistic quality control of TCM, which have been adopted as standards of the Chinese Pharmacopoeia, United States Pharmacopoeia and Europe Pharmacopoeia. These remarkable achievements were considered to have a great global impact and widely recognized through the numerous awards and prizes conferred on him over the years. He won the Third Prize of the Fourth Wu Jieping Medical Research Award and the Paul-Janssen Pharmaceutical Research Award in 1997, and the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars awarded by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) in 1999. He was awarded the Natural Science Award (First Class) by the Ministry of Education of China in 2005 and 2007. In 2012, he received the State National Science Award (Second Class), Outstanding Contribution Award of the 11th Oxford International Conference on the Science of Botanicals as well as American Botanical Council Norman R. Farnsworth Excellence in Botanical Research Award. He received the Wu Jieping Medical Innovation Award in 2013 and the Science and Technology Award (First Class) of the China Association of Chinese Medicine in 2015.

Professor Guo is the first Chinese scientist to introduce TCM standards into the United States Pharmacopoeia and European Pharmacopoeia and has chaired many major scientific research projects at the national level. He published over 350 SCI papers with 5,900 SCI citations. He has 14 authorized patents and compiled 12 books or book chapters. His concurrent academic positions include, among others, President of Good Practice in Traditional Chinese Medicine (GP-TCM) Research Association, Executive Committee member of Chinese Pharmacopoeia, Director of Committee for Natural Medicines, Vice Chair of Botanical Dietary Supplement and Herbal Medicine Expert Committee of United States Pharmacopoeia, Member of European Pharmacopoeia, Chairman of The Specialty Committee of TCM Pharmaceutical Analysis of World Federation of Chinese Medicine Societies (WFCMS), Expert of Panel of Society for Medicinal Plant Research (GA), Expert of Panel of the American Botanical Council (ABC), Member of Drug Evaluation Committee of State Food and Drug Administration (SFDA). He currently serves as Editor-in-Chief, Associate Editor or Editorial Board members of 18 highly respected international scientific journals, including World Journal of Traditional Chinese Medicine, Journal of Ethnopharmacology, Planta Medica, and Fitoterapia, etc. He has delivered more than 40 plenary lectures in major international conferences. He initiated and organized the "Shanghai International Conference on Traditional Chinese Medicine and Nature Medicine" meeting series, which has successfully been held 8 times and becomes a well-known international event. He also held six consecutive meetings of the "International Conference on TCM Pharmaceutical Analysis" as its President.

Main Page of Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine

Top

張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎 - 得獎人簡介

得獎人簡介

果德安教授

中國科學院上海藥物研究所研究員
中藥標準化技術國家工程實驗室主任
上海中藥現代化研究中心主任

  果德安教授,男,1962年4月出生於山東鄆城,1990年取得北京醫科大學藥學院博士學位,1993 至 1996 年在美國德州理工大學(Texas Tech University)化學系從事博士後研究,1996至2005年分別擔任北京醫科大學藥學院副教授及北京大學藥學院教授。現任中國科學院上海藥物研究所研究員、中藥標準化技術國家工程實驗室主任、上海中藥現代化研究中心主任。

  果教授從事中藥現代研究至今30餘年,在中藥質量標準相關基礎和應用研究以及推動中藥國際化方面作出顯著成績,建立了中藥複雜體系活性成分系統分析方法,構建了中藥整體質量控制標準體系,應用於國家藥典和國際藥典標準中。他的科研成就屢獲肯定,1997年獲第四屆「吳階平醫學研究獎—保羅•楊森藥學研究獎」生藥學專業三等獎;1999年獲國家傑出青年基金;2005年和2007年分獲教育部自然科學一等獎;2012年獲國家自然科學獎二等獎,是中醫藥領域第一個國家自然科學獎,同年獲第11屆國際植物藥科學大會(美國)首屆傑出貢獻獎、美國植物藥委員會最高榮譽Norman R. Farnsworth卓越研究獎;2013年獲吳階平醫藥創新獎;2015年獲中華中醫藥學會科學技術一等獎。

  果教授是第一個將中藥標準引入美國藥典和歐洲藥典的中國學者,並先後主持多個國家級重要科研專案,共發表SCI論文350餘篇,被SCI引用5,900餘次,獲授權發明專利14項,主編專著12部。他在多個國際、國內學術組織中任職,包括國際中醫藥規範研究學會會長、中國藥典執行委員、天然藥物專委會主任、美國藥典會植物膳食劑與草藥專家委員會副主席、歐洲藥典委員、世界中醫藥聯合會中藥分析專委會會長、國際藥用植物研究學會顧問專家、美國植物學委員會顧問專家(亞洲唯一專家)、國家藥品監督管理局藥品審評委員等;擔任包括《World Journal of Traditional Chinese Medicine》、《Journal of Ethnopharmacology》、《Planta Medica》、《Fitoterapia》在內的18個傳統藥物或植物藥領域國際學術雜誌的主編、副主編或編委;並在國際學術會議上作大會報告40餘次,發起並主辦系列國際會議—“上海中醫藥國際大會”和“中藥分析國際學術會議”,爲中藥現代化和國際化做出了突出貢獻。

「張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎」主頁

頁首