Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine

Introduction of Award Winner

Academician Kuo-Hsiung Lee

Academician of Academia Sinica;
Kenan Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and
Director of Natural Products Research Laboratories,
Eshelman School of Pharmacy,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Academician Kuo-Hsiung Lee received his B.S. in pharmacy from Kaohsiung Medical University, Taiwan in 1961, his M.S. in pharmaceutical chemistry from Kyoto University, Japan in 1965, and his Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry from University of Minnesota, Minneapolis in 1968. He also held the position of a postdoctoral scholar in organic chemistry at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) from 1968 to 1970.

Since 1970, Academician Lee has been a faculty member at the Eshelman School of Pharmacy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH), first as Assistant Professor (1970-74), then as Associate Professor (1974-76), followed by Full Professor (1977-91), and finally as Kenan Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, Endowed Chair (1992-present). He also served as Chairman of the Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products Division from 1998 to 1999. He established the Natural Products Research Laboratories (NPRL) in 1983 and has been serving as its Director until now.

Throughout his research career, Academician Lee has focused on using medicinal chemistry-based methods to investigate Chinese herbal medicines with the aim of discovering and developing new drug candidates and new drugs. This work has made him a world-recognized leader in medicinal and natural products chemistry. With continuing grant support from National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other sources since 1971, his NPRL has studied over 190 Chinese herbal medicines and discovered several thousand novel bioactive natural products and their synthetic analogs, providing leads for new generation drug design against AIDS, cancer, and other diseases. His discoveries will undoubtedly lead to development of future pharmaceutical agents in the same manner that numerous previously discovered bioactive natural products (including ephedrine, taxol, and artemisinin) were developed as current pharmaceutical agents to treat cancers and other diseases. Using the most advanced natural products and synthetic medicinal chemistry coupled with cutting-edge life science technologies, including new computational techniques and new target-based and genomic evaluation methods, the novel lead compounds newly discovered by Academician Lee's research group will provide a solid foundation for developing potential chemotherapeutic drug candidates in the 21st century.

Academician Lee has over 45 years of experience in teaching in the pharmacy profession at graduate levels. In the Division of Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products (now known as Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry), he has been the graduate advisor of 38 Ph.D. and 7 M.S. graduate students. These students have gone on to gain prestigious appointments in both academia and industry. Academician Lee has also supervised over 190 postdoctoral fellows and visiting scientists. Totally each year, he supervises approximately 20-30 scientists, including graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scientists and professors.

Academician Lee also coordinates collaborative research projects with more than 60 active scientists/laboratories outside of UNC-CH, which gives his graduate and postgraduate students unique opportunities to interact with experts in numerous biological/mechanistic areas of medicinal and natural product chemistries, in addition to a strong foundation in synthetic medicinal chemistry as well as drug discovery and development that is the major focus of the NPRL.

Academician Lee's productive, internationally known research has resulted in more than 838 research articles and over 113 patents. He has given over 417 invited lectures and presentations, both in and outside of the US. He has also served as an editorial advisory board member of 28 journals, appointed as Chairman of Committee for the Promotion of Chinese Herbal Medicine Industry and Technology, Ministry of Economic Affairs of Taiwan (2000-2006) as well as Member of the Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science Selection Committee of Academia Sinica (2013-2016).

Among Academician Lee's numerous awards and honors are the Lifu Academic Award for Chinese Medicine in 1994; election as Academician of Academia Sinica in 1996; the Outstanding Achievement Award, University of Minnesota in 1999; the Taiwanese-American Foundation Achievement Award in Science and Engineering in 2003; the Kitasato Microbial Chemistry Medal, Japan in 2005; the American Society of Pharmacognosy Norman R. Farnsworth Research Achievement Award in 2009; the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon from the government of Japan in 2011; the China 100 Distinguished Chinese Alumni Award, University of Minnesota in 2014; and the Ernest H. Volwiler Research Achievement Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2015. Academician Lee was elected as Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (1986), Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1994), and Fellow of the American Society of Pharmacognosy (2010). He was also appointed as Honorary Professor, Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica, Chinese Academy of Sciences (1996); Honorary Advisor, Chinese Medicinal Material Research Centre, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (1999); Honorary Professor, Institute of Medicinal Plant Development, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences (1999); as well as Chair Professor and Honorary Director of the Chinese Medicine Research and Development Center at China Medical University and Hospital, Taiwan (2010); and Chair Professor, College of Pharmacy at Kaohsiung Medical University, Taiwan (2011).

Academician Lee feels that medicinal chemistry is an art of combining chemistry and biology for drug discovery and development, and like the Chinese concept of Yin and Yang, Chemistry and Biology are complementary. The discovery of new bioactive compounds from Chinese herbal medicine depends on valid biological assays and targets, while new chemistry can make the discovery of new biological targets possible. Accordingly, he feels that research on Chinese herbal medicine is one of the most effective and efficient methods to discover new drugs.

Main Page of Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine

Top

張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎 - 得獎人簡介

得獎人簡介

李國雄院士

中央研究院院士、
美國北卡大學藥學院
Kenan醫藥化學傑出講座教授暨天然藥物研究所所長

  李國雄院士是臺灣高雄醫學大學藥學院首屆畢業生(1961),日本京都大學藥物化學碩士(1965),美國明尼蘇達大學醫藥化學哲學博士(1968),加州大學-洛杉磯有機化學博士後研究學者(1968-1970)。自1970年起他任職於美國北卡大學-教堂山藥學院,先後擔任助理教授(1970-1974)、副教授(1974-1977)、教授(1977-1991)和Kenan醫藥化學傑出講座教授(1992-迄今)。他於1998至1999年期間擔任藥學院醫藥化學及天然產物學系的系主任,並在1983年建立天然產物研究所,一直擔任該所所長迄今。

  李院士在整個學術生涯中,一直專注於利用醫藥化學的方法從事中草藥新藥研發的工作。他持續而深入的研究使他取得了豐碩的成果,在該研究領域成為國際高度認可的專家。從1971年以來,他從不間斷地獲得美國國家衛生研究院(NIH)之研究資助,使他能從190餘種中草藥中發現了數千種有效成分及其合成衍生物或類似物,為開發新一代治療癌症和愛滋病或其它疾病的藥物提供新缐索。李院士及其團隊所研發之幾種化合物已進入癌症和愛滋病之臨床應用、臨床試驗或臨床前研發階段。李院士堅持以中草藥為資源,結合天然產物與醫藥化學及尖端生命科學科技所開發出之大量新穎先導物質,無疑地將為21世紀更多新藥之研發奠定了最堅實之基礎。

  李院士在北卡大學藥學院為本科生和研究生講授醫藥化學、天然產物化學及相關課程長達45年之久,指導和培養了38位博士研究生和7位碩士研究生,這些學生畢業後在學術界和工業界都獲得了非常優異的成就與表現。在李院士之研究所從事過研究的博士後學者和訪問學者已超過190人。在他的指導下,其研究所裏每年從事研究的人員約有20至30人,包括研究生、博士後、訪問學者和訪問教授。李院士與北卡大學以外的全球60多位科學家和研究室皆有合作項目,這為他的研究生和博士後研究人員提供了與不同領域專家直接接觸的獨特機會。

  李院士以高效和豐富的國際合作而著稱,已發表了838篇學術論文,獲得了113項專利,應邀國際學術報告和演講417次,為28種學術期刊的編輯顧問,擔任台灣經濟部中草藥技術委員會委員兼召集人(2000-2005)以及中央研究院唐獎生技醫藥評選委員(2013-2016)。他在科學研究的傑出貢獻與榮譽,使其榮獲許多獎項,包括1994年之第一屆立夫中醫藥學術獎、1996年當選為中華民國第21屆中央研究院院士、1999年之明州大學傑出成就獎、2003年之臺美基金會科技工程人才成就獎、2005年之日本北里微生物化學獎、2009年之美國生藥學會Norman R. Farnsworth傑出研究成就獎、2011年榮獲日本政府頒發之“旭日中綬章”勳章、2014年之明州大學百年百位傑出華人校友獎、2015年之美國藥學院協會Ernest H. Volwiler傑出研究成就獎,並獲選美國藥學科學家協會會士(1986)、美國科學振興協會會士(1994)及美國生藥學會會士(2010),以及獲任命為中國科學院上海藥物研究所榮譽教授(1996)、香港中文大學中藥研究中心榮譽顧問(1999)、中國醫學科學院北京藥用植物開發研究所榮譽教授(1999)、中國醫藥大學講座教授暨中醫藥研發中心榮譽主任(2010)及高雄醫學大學藥學院講座教授(2011)。

  李院士認為醫藥化學是依化學和生物學之完美結合以開創新藥的一種藝術,就好像中國的「陰陽」學說,化學和生物學相互為輔。從中草藥中發現新的活性成分要依賴對生物標靶之精準測試,而化學可以使新生物標靶的發現成為可能。因此,他認為研發中草藥是現代開創新藥最有效之捷徑之一。

「張安德中醫藥國際貢獻獎」主頁

頁首