Professor WANG Yi-Tao (5th COT Award Winner)

Professor Wang Yi-Tao Professor Wang Yi-Tao
Affiliation at the time of the Award:
  • Chair Professor, Director of the State Key Laboratory of Quality Research in Chinese Medicines (SKL-QRCM), at University of Macau (UM), and
  • Director of Macau Center for R&D in Chinese Medicine



Prof. Wang was appointed as an Instructor at Chengdu University of Traditional Chinese Medicine (CDUTCM) right after graduation in 1982. He completed his postgraduate study in Pharmacology at Chongqing Medical University in 1986, and conducted pharmacological studies at Hiroshima University, Japan, as a Visiting Scholar in 1988-1989. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1992 and Full Professor in 1996, and served as Dean of Faculty of Pharmacy, Assistant President and Vice President of CDUTCM from 1990 to 1996. Prof. Wang was the Director of Institute of Chinese Materia Medica and Vice President of China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences in 1996, and he became the Chief Scientist in 1999. He was appointed as Professor and Director for the Chinese Medicine (CM) Programme at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2000-2002. In 2002, he was invited to join UM to initiate the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences as the founding director, and he subsequently founded SKL-QRCM as the founding director in 2011. He was appointed as Chair Professor at UM in 2013.

Prof. Wang has devoted himself into the medicinal education and CM studies. He founded the first national key discipline in CM and the first national talents programme in CM. He was also the Chief Scientist for the first National Basic Research Program of China (973 Program) in traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), and initiated and led the foundation of the first SKL in TCM in China.

He has supervised 98 PhD and MSc graduates, published 470 SCI papers with a total citation of 19,028 times and h-index of 71, and edited 10 books in CM. He became the National Council Special Allowance Expert in 1993, and won numerous awards including Macau Medal of Merit-Education (2011), National Science and Technology Progress Award (2016), Macao Science and Technology Awards - Special Award (2018), and eight other prestigious awards issued by Macao SAR government and Ministries of China.

He is a member of Macao SAR Industrial Development Committee, Macao SAR Science and Technology Committee, the Medical Council of Macao SAR as well as several national committees including National Science and Technology Programmes, the State Science and Technology Awards, National Natural Science Foundation, and NMPA Centre for Drug Evaluation. He is the General Secretary for the International Society for Chinese Medicine, Chairman of International Society of Quality Research in Chinese Medicine, executive member of the Presidium of the World Federation of Chinese Medicine Societies and Editor-in-Chief of a SCI journal “Chinese Medicine” which is ranked first in Impact Factor among all TCM journals in the Greater China region.