Professor GUO De-an (3rd COT Award Winner)

Professor Guo De-an Professor Guo De-an
Affiliation at the time of the Award:
  • Chair Professor of Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Director of National Engineering Laboratory for TCM Standardization Technology
  • Director of Shanghai Research Center for Modernization of Traditional Chinese Medicine



Professor De-an Guo was born in Yuncheng County, Shandong Province of China on April 24, 1962. He received his Ph.D. in Pharmacognosy from Beijing Medical University in 1990 and was Post-doctoral Fellow at Plant Biochemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Texas Tech University, USA from 1993 to 1996. He was Associate Professor at School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Beijing Medical University (1996-1997) and then Full Professor at School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Peking University (1997-2005). He is currently Chair Professor at Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Director of National Engineering Laboratory for TCM Standardization Technology and Director of Shanghai Research Center for Modernization of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Professor Guo has focused his research on modernization of traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) for more than 30 years. He has established a method to analyse the active ingredients of TCM and developed a standard system for holistic quality control of TCM, which have been adopted as standards of the Chinese Pharmacopoeia, United States Pharmacopoeia and Europe Pharmacopoeia. These remarkable achievements were considered to have a great global impact and widely recognized through the numerous awards and prizes conferred on him over the years. He won the Third Prize of the Fourth Wu Jieping Medical Research Award and the Paul-Janssen Pharmaceutical Research Award in 1997, and the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars awarded by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) in 1999. He was awarded the Natural Science Award (First Class) by the Ministry of Education of China in 2005 and 2007. In 2012, he received the State National Science Award (Second Class), Outstanding Contribution Award of the 11th Oxford International Conference on the Science of Botanicals as well as American Botanical Council Norman R. Farnsworth Excellence in Botanical Research Award. He received the Wu Jieping Medical Innovation Award in 2013 and the Science and Technology Award (First Class) of the China Association of Chinese Medicine in 2015.

Professor Guo is the first Chinese scientist to introduce TCM standards into the United States Pharmacopoeia and European Pharmacopoeia and has chaired many major scientific research projects at the national level. He published over 350 SCI papers with 5,900 SCI citations. He has 14 authorized patents and compiled 12 books or book chapters. His concurrent academic positions include, among others, President of Good Practice in Traditional Chinese Medicine (GP-TCM) Research Association, Executive Committee member of Chinese Pharmacopoeia, Director of Committee for Natural Medicines, Vice Chair of Botanical Dietary Supplement and Herbal Medicine Expert Committee of United States Pharmacopoeia, Member of European Pharmacopoeia, Chairman of The Specialty Committee of TCM Pharmaceutical Analysis of World Federation of Chinese Medicine Societies (WFCMS), Expert of Panel of Society for Medicinal Plant Research (GA), Expert of Panel of the American Botanical Council (ABC), Member of Drug Evaluation Committee of State Food and Drug Administration (SFDA). He currently serves as Editor-in-Chief, Associate Editor or Editorial Board members of 18 highly respected international scientific journals, including World Journal of Traditional Chinese Medicine, Journal of Ethnopharmacology, Planta Medica, and Fitoterapia, etc. He has delivered more than 40 plenary lectures in major international conferences. He initiated and organized the "Shanghai International Conference on Traditional Chinese Medicine and Nature Medicine" meeting series, which has successfully been held 8 times and becomes a well-known international event. He also held six consecutive meetings of the "International Conference on TCM Pharmaceutical Analysis" as its President.